ISA 2021 New

International Safety Awards 2023

The 2023 awards scheme is closed.

What are the International Safety Awards?

The British Safety Council International Safety Awards recognise an organisation’s commitment to excellent standards of health, safety and wellbeing management at a specific site or business unit. In 2022, more than 640 organisations of all sizes, types and sectors won an International Safety Award. The winners included businesses from the UK, Africa, Asia, India, mainland Europe and the Middle East.

Now in its 65th year, the 2023 International Safety Awards are open for applications, and businesses of all sizes, types and sectors around the world are invited to apply.

There are 12 award categories in total for the 2023 International Safety Awards, providing companies, teams and individuals with the chance to win recognition for their hard work and achievements in protecting and enhancing the health, safety and wellbeing of their organisations’ workers.

Why should I apply?

It takes commitment, hard work and dedication to improve the health, safety and wellbeing culture within an organisation. The International Safety Awards are recognised globally and give you the recognition you deserve, they can also help you to:

  • Motivate your team
  • Prove your success both within your organisation and to others in the industry
  • Benchmark yourself against other leaders in the field
  • Win new clients, partners and business opportunities
  • Showcase your commitment to excellent health, safety and wellbeing standards.

How can I apply?

Organisations answer a series of online questions about their approach to protecting and enhancing the health, safety and wellbeing of their workers and others who could be affected by their work activities, such as contractors and the public, during the 2022 calendar year.

Purchase your Application

Webinar: How to complete your ISA 2023 application

Join us for an opportunity to learn more about how to submit your ISA application. Why attend?

  • Hear all about the benefits of the awards scheme
  • Top tips and typical pitfalls for applications
  • Information about the 2023 marking scheme and an overview of the questions
  • Step-by-step guide on how to purchase and submit your application.


Monday, 31 October 2022 10:00AM – 11:00 AM GMT

Register now.


Thursday, 12 January 2023 10:00AM – 11:00 AM GMT

Register now.


Award categories

International Safety Award

Recognises commitment to exemplary health, safety and wellbeing management. Award submissions are site specific. Successful applicants will be awarded Distinction, Merit or Pass grades based on their final score. There is no quota of grades to be awarded. All applicants are invited to celebrate their success at the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner in 2023.

Auto-entry Awards

Sector Awards

Recognise overall 'best in class' submissions to the International Safety Awards, by industry sector. This is a great way to stand out amongst peers and encourages best practice. 

Sector Award categories are: 

  • Manufacturing 
  • Oil, gas, mining and quarrying
  • Power and utilities
  • Construction and property activities 
  • Wholesale and retail services
  • Transportation, distribution and storage 
  • Leisure, sports clubs, hospitality and catering
  • Art and culture – museums, galleries
  • Education 
  • Health and social care 
  • Not for profit 
  • Financial, IT, legal, scientific and technical services, media 
  • Local government, defence and public services 
  • Onshore major hazard.

Best in Country Award

All International Safety Award applicants are entered into this award, provided there is a significant number of applications from the same country. The highest scoring and best overall application will be awarded.

Best in Company Award

This award is for organisations with 50 or more participating sites and recognises the site(s) with the most outstanding applications. 

Chief Adjudicator's Award

The Chief Adjudicator's Award is awarded to the ISA application that achieves the highest score each year. This award does not require a submission and the winner/s will receive a certificate of their achievement.

Free to Enter Award Categories

For 2023, we are running a total of seven free to enter awards. These awards are open to all and we particularly welcome applications from small businesses who have been impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic.

You do not have to purchase an International Safety Award application to enter any of the following free to enter awards. 


The CEO Award

Rewarding leadership and strategic vision of CEOs who have made a vital contribution to health and safety of their business and to the wider society during 2022.  This award recognises how an individual CEO takes an active role in aligning and championing their organisation's health, safety and wellbeing interests with their internal and external stakeholders.


Applications are now closed.


Health Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the Year Award

The Health, Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the year Award recognises an employee who, in your opinion, has played a significant role to ensure the health, safety and wellbeing of colleagues and others. The nominee's primary role does not need to be health and safety.

Applications are now closed.

Team of the Year Award

The Team of the Year Award recognises the outstanding achievements resulting in a significant improvement to health, safety or wellbeing from a collaboration of stakeholders which may include members of the organisation, suppliers, subcontractors and/or the wider community.

Applications are now closed.

The James Tye Award

Recognition for an organisation or a team of individuals who have developed and run a campaign in 2022 that has made a significant impact on the health, safety or wellbeing in the workplace.


Applications are now closed.

Wellbeing Initiative Award Powered by Being Well Together

This award recognises and rewards those organisations that have demonstrated a proactive and effective approach to improving employee wellbeing.

Applications are now closed.

Health and Safety Transformation Award - Sponsored by Croner-i

This category is for organisations that have significantly changed or transformed any aspect of health, safety or wellbeing to a significant extent through the use of information. Applicants will be asked to describe the transformation, how it was planned, what information was used to help achieve the transformation and what positive impact it has had on the organisation.


Applications are now closed.

Seize the Opportunity Award

This award recognises organisations that have gone the extra mile to seize health, safety or wellbeing opportunities resulting from a crisis. In being nominated for this award, the organisation is agreeing to their name and photograph being used by the British Safety Council in various media channels to recognise their achievement.

Applications are now closed.


Key dates

September 2022 Applications open for 2023 awards
31 October 2022 ISA Application Webinar
04 November 2022 Early bird pricing deadline
12 January 2023 ISA Application Webinar
10 February 2023 Application submission deadline
03 March 2023 Free to enter Awards -application submission deadline
10 March 2023 Results emailed to applicants
11 March 2023 Winners list published
24 March 2023 Result enquiry deadline
27 April 2023 Free to enter category winners announced
May 2023 (Date TBC) Gala Dinner


Sponsored by

Additional support and videos


International Safety Awards 2022:

An impressive 647 applications from 39 countries were received for the International Safety Awards in 2022. We congratulate all the winners.

View the 2022 winners list.

View the 2022 additional award winners list.